National Championships

An Australian National Championship Regatta for the Heron class is held each year.  The next Heron National Championship Regatta will be held at Perth Dinghy Sailing Club WA from 28 December 2018 to 4 January 2019.  This will be the 60th National Championship Regatta for the class.  The 61st Nationals are scheduled for Lake Cootharaba, Queensland in 2019-20.

Congratulations to Rohan and Aidan Nosworthy in 10251 A Power.

Pt Stephens Podium. L to R 2nd Mick and Aiden Brown, 1st Rohan and Aidan Nosworthy, 3rd Peter Vaiciurgis and Charlie Nosworthy

10251 A Power on the beach at Pt Stephens

Rohan and Aidan are the 59th Australian National Champions in the Heron Class.  Construction of A Power started in Adelaide around 1968.  She was sold as an unfinished project in 2001 and completed over a number of years by Gary Penney in Wallaroo, SA.  She was registered at the time of completion, so her number does not truly reflect her age.  After racing as Obsession in SA and NSW, the Nosworthy family adopted her.  With further work, this 50 year old boat took out the NSW State Championship earlier this season and then the National Championship prize.


Many well known sailors have achieved success in the Heron class.  Here is a list of previous National Championship winners. 


Here are results from past national regattas:
59th Nationals Port Stephens NSW 2017/18
58th Nationals St Leonards Yacht Club Vic 2016/17
57th Nationals Port Lincoln Yacht Club SA   2015/16
56th Nationals Lindisfarne Sailing Club Tas   2014/15
55th Nationals Lake Cootharaba Sailing Club Qld 2013/14
54th Nationals Perth Dinghy Sailing Club WA  2012/13
53rd Nationals Lake Macquarie Yacht Club NSW 2011/12
52nd Nationals St Leonards Yacht Club Vic  2010/11
51st Nationals Largs Bay Sailing Club SA  2009/10
50th Nationals Brisbane Qld 2008/09
49th Nationals Lindisfarne Sailing Club Tas 2007/8
48th Nationals Perth Dinghy Sailing Club WA 2006/7
47th Nationals George’s River Sailing Club NSW 2005/6
46th Nationals Safety Beach Vic 2004/05
45th Nationals Brighton and Seacliff SA 2003/04
44th Nationals Brisbane Qld 2002/03
43rd Nationals Lindisfarne Sailing Club Tas 2001/02
42nd Nationals Toronto NSW 2000/01
41st Nationals  Mounts Bay Sailing Club WA 1999/2000
40th Nationals Victor Harbor SA 1998/99
39th Nationals Lake Cootharaba Qld 1997/98
38th Nationals Lindisfarne Sailing Club Tas 1996-97
37th Nationals Chelsea Vic 1995/96
36th Nationals Toukley NSW 1994/95    
35th Nationals Perth WA 1993/94
34th Nationals Henley Sailing Club SA 1992/93
33rd Nationals Hervey Bay Qld 1991/92
32nd Nationals  Speers Point NSW 1990/91
31st Nationals Portland Vic 1989/90
30th Nationals Perth WA 1988/89
29th Nationals Ceduna SA 1987/88
28th Nationals Hervey Bay Qld 1986/87
27th Nationals Speers Point 1985/86
26th Nationals Hobart Tas 1984/85
25th Nationals Perth WA 1983/84
24th Nationals Lake Bonney SA 1982/83
23rd Nationals Speers Point NSW 1981/82
22nd Nationals Elwood Vic 1980/81
21st Nationals Hervey Bay Qld 1979/80
20th Nationals Perth WA 1978/79
19th Nationals Hobart Tas 1977/78
18th Nationals Henley Beach SA 1976/77
17th Nationals Balmoral NSW 1975/76
16th Nationals Albury NSW 1974/75
15th  Nationals Brisbane Qld 1973/74
14th Nationals Perth WA 1972/73
13th Nationals Canberra ACT 1971/72
12th Nationals Hobart Tas 1970/71
11th Nationals Brighton and Seacliff SA 1969/70
10th Nationals Woollahra NSW 1968/69
9th Nationals Melbourne 1967/68
8th  Nationals Canberra ACT 1966/67
7th Nationals Largs Bay SA 1965-66
6th Nationals Melbourne Vic 1964-65
5th Nationals Bayview NSW 1963-64